Releasing the Coil

“Until one is committed, there is hesitancy, the chance to draw back, always ineffectiveness. Concerning all acts of initiative (and creation) there is one elementary truth, the ignorance of which kills countless ideas and splendid plans: That the moment one definitely commits oneself, then Providence moves too. All sorts of things occur to help one that would never otherwise have occurred. A whole stream of events issues from the decision, raising in one’s favor all manner of unforeseen incidents and meetings and material assistance, which no man could have dreamed would have come his way.”

Early 2011

As the new year rang in, I sat on the couch and made a simple resolution: Make this the best year of my life.

Everyday I was to wake up and ask How can I make this the best day possible? The idea being the sum of parts would create the whole. A best year.  Now I’ve been everso lucky to have had some amazing times with many amazing folks, so this was a bold task. But fuck it, I figured if I fell short, hey, at least this would likely create a good year and ain’t no thang wrong with that.

Things didn’t change instantly at first. Nothing ever does. But I got better at it, and in a few weeks it snowballed. Positive feedback loops.

The first week of January I officially submitted my last paper. I will never return to school. I became re-inspired by one of my friends and realized the power of a positive mindset. I polished up my resume and within a week or two had a dream job lined up in Australia. The wheels were set in motion.

I bought a one-way ticket to Sydney with the fast-disappearing room on my credit card.

Now, some might view leaving to the opposite side of the world to travel with $32,000 in debt, $7000 of that on a maxed-out credit card, as foolish. Some might wait to pay down their debts and save before travelling. Some might plan. Some might closely examine a map of a country before moving there. Some might have a return date…

I didn’t want to wait. I wanted to make this the best year of my life.

Big blue waiting to take me away, on a day that shows why VanCity is THE greatest large city on the planet.

One thought on “Releasing the Coil

  1. Pingback: The Best Year of my Life Part 2 and Project Island Mist Leak | MHIwanders

Leave a Reply

