The Best Year of Your Life and Project Island Mist Leak

Oct 2,  2011

“For the past 33 years I have looked in the mirror every morning and asked myself, ‘If today were the last day of my life, would I want to do what I am about to do today?’ And whenever the answer has been ‘no’ for too many days in a row, I know I need to change something.” -Steve Jobs

I’ve recently been updating my website with posts I had written at the beginning of this year, back when I made a vow to make this the best year of my life. If got off to an amazing start out of the gates, but sometimes it’s hard to retain the momentum and not fall back into the day to day of routine, of habit.  After 6 months I did a self check at the halfway point to see if I was on track. I wasn’t living each day the best I could, but overall so far so good. With the 9 month period just up, I think I’ve lost a bit of that mentality. Don’t get me wrong, things have worked out fucking fantastically to date. Plan strategically, but act opportunistically has been my motto. Borneo, New Zealand, Thailand, etc…. they all met at the nexus of strategy and opportunity. Those experiences blew my mind. But I know I can do more. Not only that, but I know I’ll be travelling well into next year.

So I’m setting myself this challenge: make 2012 even better than 2011!

It’ll be a tall order, but I’m game. And while we’re at it, why wait until the new year to get going? Plan strategically, act opportunistically.

Air Asia was having a sale, so last night I took a really, really deep breath…and purchased flights to Bali, India and Paris.

Fuck. Yes. Boom! Just like that, I’ve set things up for an epic year already and given 2012 the best chance possible.. Fucking Paris?!? Are you kidding me? I still can’t even believe it’s real. If 2011 has been the year of the working holiday, 2012 is gonna be the year of the straight-up holiday. I have no idea what the hell I’m doing, but I do know that there are now 3 dates where I have to be at a certain location. All the rest is just freestylin.

<<Sound of record needle scratching>>. Hold up son. 2011 ain’t over yet. So sir, and there are some big things in the pipeline to make sure 2011 goes down swinging. My friends Phil, Marty and myself are working on something that makes me so excited I want to explode. “Project Island Mist.”

“A boat trip to the Mentawais changes lives. It opens minds, and feeds the soul. The amount of quality waves packed into this part of the Indian Ocean is unbelievable.”-Sumatran Surfaris

Everyday offshore.

It’s still in the early stages of planning, but we’ve committed, and that’s 2/3 of the battle. In point form: surfing, Indonesia, Mentawai Islands, spear fishing, filming, documentary, barrels, one long haired-bearded hippy (who will that be? You’ll just have to watch the film to find out!), camping on a deserted island… oh yeah, did I mention surfing in the Mentawais?

Project Island Mist is currently scheduled for early December. The setting, along with the people involved (two of the most positive, stoked and motivated friends I have) already guarantee that it’ll be a truely epic, memorable and defining experience.

This is what life’s all about. Stay tuned!

The vast fetch of the Indian Ocean pointing right at the Mentawais!

I’d also like to take this opportunity to challenge YOU, my friends, to ask yourself everyday for the rest of 2011 “How can I make this the best day ever?”, and plan strategically to make 2012 the best year of your life. Maybe even share with us how you plan on doing it in the comments section that’d be pretty rad!

Leave a Reply

